The Blue Mosque

April 27, 2010

I have chosen the Sultan Ahmed Mosque or the “Blue Mosque” as my non western art.  Archtiecture is the most elaborate expression of art, and when involved with religion can be the most significant.

The Blue mosque was built between 1609 and 1616 by Sultan Ahmed I after losing a major war with Persia.  He decided to build the temple to regain favor with god.  He chose architect Sedefhar Mehmet Aga to build the mosque.  The Blue Mosque was built over the site of the Imperial Palace of Constantinople. The Palace was the home of the Eastren Roman Emperors and was the Center of the western world for many years.

This mosque got its nickname from the blue tiles used in the interior.  The mosque has many of the archtypical tile mosaics of Islamic art and the minarets that are so important to Islamic prayer.

This is an interior photo of the main prayer room.

This is the same prayer room, with the elaborate chandeleir lighting the room.

This is the ceiling view of the great dome. Note the traditional Islamic mosiac and the blue tiles.

6 Responses to “The Blue Mosque”

  1. Beverly West Says:

    Hello! I have never seen or heard of the Blue Mosque until I read your blog, but I’m so glad that you chose this beautiful piece of architecture because it truly is awesome! It really reminds me of the likes of the Taj Mahal, that is just how grand the Blue Mosque is! It’s kind of funny that the sultan chose to have a building built after losing a war, but I guess that just shows how we come from completely different places. I guess that it the entire point of exploring NONWESTERN art in this assignment. I love the picture that you provided of the chandelier in the prayer room. I cannot believe how HUGE it is! I’ve never seen a chandelier of that size before, it is beautiful. Overall, this blog was really good. You included great background information about the mosque, but I’m not exactly sure why you liked it enough to blog about it?


  2. Hello, good blog! I had never heard about the Blue mosque before reading your post and I was immediately struck by it.
    It is interesting to me that it is nicknamed “blue mosque” because of the interior rather than the exterior, which is also blue… Though I see a great use of a beautiful shade of blue in the pictures of the interior. I am very struck by the mosaics. The lights as well – as your picture shows, it must be just heart stopping in the evening. A great choice for your blog!

    I liked your connections with the religion, though I would have liked to maybe read a little about how(/if) it is used religiously today. I would have liked to hear you personal reaction at this wonderful piece of architecture. Otherwise a good blog with relevant information.

  3. David Apperson Says:

    What a beautiful structure! Your blog encouraged me to read a little more on about the Blue Mosque and I was interested to find that it was built with money from the Empire’s treasury and now with war booty which typically funded the building of new mosques. The scale is incredible, this mosque must be enormous! The pictures you included are also breath taking. I’m amazed by the free-standing minarets which seem so delicate but have stood for nearly four-hundred years. Perhaps what I loved most about your blog was that I had never before heard of the Blue Mosque. Thanks.

  4. caitlincatrose Says:

    I had heard about the blue mosque in a middle eastern studies class I took a few years back, but only in passing. This blog defiantly taught me more than I knew before, so thank you! I also very much appreciate that you showed multiple views of the mosque–it really is quite breathtaking. Thanks for the information and a great post!

  5. Lars Edqvist Says:

    Actually it’s the old Byzantic cathederal built in the 6’th century witch was transformed much later to a Mosque by the new Muslim rulers. In one of the balconys there are left “graffiti” run inscriptions made by vikings who served as gards to the emporer of Constantinopel . They were made before year 1000.

  6. Lars Edqvist Says:

    Sorry, my last reply was regarding Hagia Sofia, not the Blue mosque. My mistake!

Leave a Reply

