Classical Music

March 15, 2010

I choose Beethoven’s Symphony Number 5 in C minor.   http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=evr7pgSsVoo&feature=related

I thought my choice may have been a little trite, as this is one of the most overplayed songs EVER.  However I realized that I had never listened to more than the first min of the first movement.  (However long a movie scene or commercial is).   It was basically a new song for me.  It was very apparent when the song changed from movement to movement.  These were very distinct sections, and were in my opinion like different songs on the same soundtrack.

One other thing that I noticed is a lot of music I thought of as classical, is really from the romantic period.  After listening to some of these latter pieces, the presence of the four movements is very distinct in a classical work.

2 Responses to “Classical Music”

  1. Lisa Kljaich Says:

    Is blog moderation still turned on?

  2. hanson57 Says:

    Thank you for your blog. You inspired me to revisit my opinion of this piece of music. I grew up listening to it and have not chosen to listen to it in a very long time. This class has taught me to review by listening with new ears and a new appreciation to music forms. I appreciate you reference to “different songs on the same sound track” because I believe that this is how I once “heard” this symphony as well. However, since studying the 4 movements of the symphony, I can distinctly hear them in this piece and it appears they are repeated several times. Once again, great blog and thank you for choosing this music.

Leave a Reply

